Meanwhile on Instagram: Qutub Minar

My, my, it has been a while since I wrote a post. I’m not entirely decided as to whether that’s down to sheer laziness, or not being able to balance work and play well. Or being too busy stuffing my face with jalebis and taking in the culture shock that is India.

Clearly; however, I have still not moved off the lazy train. Ergo, I give you my ‘I-was-too-lazy-to-write-an-actual-post-so-here-are-a-couple-of-photos-instead’ post.

The #QutubMinar was constructed during the rules of Qutub-ud-Din Aybak, his son-in-law Iltutmush (who was too cool for a last name, and a fan of keeping it in the family), and Firoz Shah Tughlaq. The latter replaced a single red sandstone storey damaged by lightening with two new sandstone and white marble ones (read: what a rebel). All in all, a stunning piece of architecture. For anyone interested in the history and architecture of the area, there are so many resources available through the Archeological Survey website (links on blog, too). #travel #travelgram #travelteal #travelstoke #lonelyplanet #lonelyplanetindia #worldnomads #delhi #architecture #sandstone #beautifuldestinations #bbctravel #athomeintheworld #indiapictures

A post shared by Akanksha S. (@akanksha.s) on

 

Until next time,

Akanksha Singh Travel Blog Teal Rain Boots

 

