Wayfarer’s watchlist #5: 3 TED talks on travel you HAVE to watch

Ben Saunders: Why bother leaving the house?

Saunders’s* opening line sets the stage for a very interesting talk:
“I essentially drag sledges for a living, so it doesn’t take an awful lot to flummox me intellectually, but I’m going to read this question from an interview earlier this year: “Philosophically, does the constant supply of information steal our ability to imagine or replace our dreams of achieving? After all, if it is being done somewhere by someone, and we can participate virtually, then why bother leaving the house?”

Chris Burkard: The joy of surfing in ice-cold water

I initially came across Chris Burkard after stumbling upon his Instagram profile. Which, for the record, is stunning. Anyway, it suffices to say that I was more than excited when this TED talk came up on my ‘specially recommended for you’ playlist (you know me well, YouTube). 

To quote from Burkard’s talk, “You see, the more time I spent traveling to these exotic locations, the less gratifying it seemed to be. I set out seeking adventure, and what I was finding was only routine. It was things like wi-fi, TV, fine dining, and a constant cellular connection that to me were all the trappings of places heavily touristed in and out of the water, and it didn’t take long for me to start feeling suffocated.”

Robin Esrock: Learn to travel — travel to learn

To say Robin Esrock is one of those people who has it all is an understatement. ‘Travel writer, author, and TV-show’ host is only trumped by ‘Rockstar, card sharp, and food critic’. Well, in my eyes, anyway. Esrock very earnestly points out in his TEDx talk,”Those of us who travel for a long time, we’re either running away from something or we’re looking for something” And we’re all looking, right?

Have you seen any interesting TED talks recently? Any other inspiring, nay, even cheesy videos / movies / clips you’d like to share? Drop me a line below and educate me, please!

As always, happy travels

Akanksha Travel Blogger Teal Rain Boots

*To the Grammar Nazi waiting in the wings, to write me an e-mail, to correct me on whether or not I should be using “Sauders’s” or “Saunders’ “. The general rule of thumb here in Australia (and much of the commonwealth) is to use the possessive as it would be spoken. So “Charles’s“, or “my boss‘s” are both perfectly acceptable in this respect. Phew, glad that’s done. Back to the post now.

Author: Akanksha Singh

Twenty-something travel addict || Likes: coffee, sarcasm, the Oxford comma, blue skies, and cobblestone roads. || Dislikes: rudeness, carrots, and pigeons (read: winged-rats with satanic eyes).

2 thoughts on “Wayfarer’s watchlist #5: 3 TED talks on travel you HAVE to watch”

  1. Although I love listening to talks about travel, seeing films about travel, reading about travel and travelling myself, I’m not really keen on the ‘Why I travel’ stuff.. I’m trying to think of a short, succinct answer, such as that George Mallory gave when asked why he wished to climb Everest:

    ‘Because it’s there!’

    Like

    1. Ah, fair enough 🙂 I just like listening to different perspectives every now and then.

      But I know what you mean– the other day, when I met someone who asked me why I like traveling (believe me, these people still exist), the best I could come up with was, ‘Because I just DO!’

      Like

Leave a Reply

