Why I donated my hair, and why — if you’re looking to chop your locks off– you should too!

I should probably preface this post with a disclaimer: I was forced to write it. That is to say, I was nagged for ages, and then patiently given a passive-aggressive ‘talking to’ about raising awareness. Anyhow, to make a very long story short, I succumbed. Here goes nothing:

Not too long ago, I received a ‘certificate of appreciation’ from the people at Variety’s Princess Charlotte Alopecia Program. I’d almost forgotten I’d sent off some 14 inches of hair until the day said certificate arrived.

IMG_3899

I’d chosen to donate my hair over a year ago, and grown it out to its longest with a donation in mind. Since I’m in Australia for the moment, I’d originally planned to donate it to Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths. Unfortunately Fortunately, since the initiative received so many donations, they’ve stopped accepting more locks– which is how, after some Googling, I decided to donate my hair to the Princess Charlotte Alopecia Program.

If you’re on the fence about hair donations, do some research, and find a reputable charity (i.e. not Locks of Love).

This video was the main reason I chose to donate my hair. More specifically, I was inspired by a 3 year old:

Don’t worry, I won’t do my usual ‘thing’ of getting preachy; instead, I’ll leave you with another video:

And some photographic evidence:

Before

Akanksha Singh Travel Blog Hair donation
Literally the only photo I could find where my hair wasn’t tied back! Excuse the messiness– I blame that tropical, sweltering heat.

After

Akanksha Singh Travel Blog Hair Donation

Just remember, ‘if everyone did one altruistic thing or helped one person everyday, that would be over 7 billion good acts done in a day,’ and the world would be a different place. So while I’m not saying donating your hair will change the world, it might be your ‘one thing’ for the day, week, month, or year.

OK, I lied– that was a tad preachy, sorry! 

Preached out for now,

Akanksha Travel Blogger Teal Rain Boots

2 thoughts on “Why I donated my hair, and why — if you’re looking to chop your locks off– you should too!

  1. A very worthy cause! I have a friend who lost her hair to chemotherapy, and the way she brightened up when she received her wig … I wish the lady who donated that beautiful red-gold hair had seen it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

