Portsea: Updates from the road

Another post from the road: aren’t you lucky?

I shall assume you are nodding politely in agreement, and continue with said post.

You are nodding, aren’t you? (Did you just nod to that as well? Exciting! OK, I’ll stop!)

Now, assuming you’ve already read my previous post on my first day in Melbourne, I shall continue from whence* I left off: which was, to be quite honest, where I was nursing a mild hangover. Or a heavy head, anyway.

We left the wineries for Portsea, a small seaside town. Not your run-of-the-mill seaside town, mind you, this one’s where Victoria’s crème de la crème have millionaire mansions. And on a day like the one we had, it was swarming with preppy sorts and their offspring.

Now, let it be known that I have nothing against children. They’re allowed to enjoy blue skies and sunshine as much as the next person. But for gosh sake people, if you’re going to let your child run free with chocolate ice cream smeared across their face, screaming like a hooligan, please ensure said child does not trip down some stairs, and start (justifiably) wailing like banshee. Better yet, look up from your phone, and don’t expect service staff to double as babysitters.

OK, sorry about that– am done ranting. Moving swiftly onwards…

Portsea was lovely. I know I use that word a lot, but it truly was splendid. Proof in pictures:

#portsea #beach #houses

A post shared by Ka Yue Chan (@kayue.owo) on

We ate lunch at the Portsea Hotel, which has a coveted view of the seaside, and a rather interesting menu. That said, the food was somewhat disappointing, and not exactly on the cheap side of things (though I suppose one pays for the view in such places).

In case you’re wondering (I’m mostly looking at you Madre): we sampled the fish ‘n’ chips and chicken schnitzel. The former wasn’t bad, but the side salad accompanying it was a tad too mushy for my liking, and the batter for the fish could have done with a little less grease. The schnitzel on the other hand, was lacking in colour, and unimpressive overall.

Akanksha Portsea Victoria Melbourne Travel Blog
C’est moi. And the view. And the food. If this were on my Instagram profile, I feel like I’d hashtag it with #proofIwasthere.

Anyhow, if you’re in the area, I’d still recommend the pub for its view, and stellar wait staff.

Also good to note: 

  • The town has a tourist info. centre– helpful staff, maps, and pamphlets about the area were abundant
  • Outdoor water-based fun (SCUBA diving, kayaking, snorkelling etc.) are doable here too. Equipment rentals and tour companies are in the the same area as the tourist info. centre. (I skipped out on the aforementioned fun because I’m visiting from Queensland).
  • The Point Nepean National Park is a must-do. We didn’t make it here because of how tight our schedule was, but if there’s one place I’ll make it to the next time I’m in the area, I think this might be it.

That’s all for now. Happy International Day of Non-Violence! (Don’t forget to donate to Save the Children’s Child Crisis campaign to help out children in Syria to support the cause)

Akanksha Singh travel blogger teal rain boots

*apologies for all the archaisms which may follow; I’d been reading Edgar Allan Poe prior to writing this

2 thoughts on “Portsea: Updates from the road

Leave a Reply

