Red Hill: Updates from the road

Melbourne has been stellar weather-wise for the last few days. We’re talking sunshine, blue skies, and Akanksha with starry eyes (sorry, I love a good rhyme– and it came to me so naturally!)

I started my time here with a trip to Red Hill and Portsea. The former is chocoblock full of wineries, and subsequently (in my opinion), wedding venues. But I digress…

Tragically, I didn’t really get to do much of a tasting at wineries in Red Hill– more of a ‘try before you buy’, if you will. We were handed a wine list, and asked to select samples for tasting off said list. This was, in my opinion, well-suited to someone who knew exactly what they wanted (I didn’t; so, it goes without saying it complicated my life immensely). 

Nonetheless, I made do– and was rather enjoying the wine buzz in a matter of hours. Here’s a quick round-up of my favourite and not-so-favourite wineries (a more detailed one to follow on TripAdvisor soon):

Favourite – Polperro by Evan Keel

The tastings at Polperro were held in a compact back room, with chic fittings, and sleek minimalist décor. Their restaurant extends out onto a wooden deck overlooking a vineyard, and given the weather was a lovely place to be.

The staff on duty were all stunning beautiful and extremely hospitable. The sommelier was  away, but the stand-in staff member was both friendly and knowledgable about wine. Although Polperro’s wines weren’t cheap (compared to wineries I’d visited in the Hunter Valley, anyway) they were, for lack of a better word, delicious.

Highly recommend: Tumbarumba Chardonnay 2013 ($35) — super fresh and citrusy (I repeat: I’m by no means a connoisseur), went down like a dream.

Least favourite (by a mile) – Montalto Vineyard & Olive Grove

I am by no means an expert on wine, but I am a customer. The staff at Montalto were curt, and disinterested in serving us (I believe it takes little effort to put on a smile, and fake being happy but what would I know?)

That being said, the wine was still up there in quality. We’d have sampled their olive oil, and perhaps even eaten at their much-talked-about restaurant with a view, should we have been treated with a little more decorum. Hay-ho, enough ranting:

Recommend (if you’re in the mood for dealing with the staff, that is) — Pennon Hill Shiraz 2014. This shiraz was beautiful: smokey / peppery, rich. Again, it was too darn bad, the lady pouring it was emotionally constipated.

Until next time

Akanksha Singh travel blogger teal rain boots

Author: Akanksha Singh

Twenty-something travel addict || Likes: coffee, sarcasm, the Oxford comma, blue skies, and cobblestone roads. || Dislikes: rudeness, carrots, and pigeons (read: winged-rats with satanic eyes).

2 thoughts on “Red Hill: Updates from the road”

  1. We shall be in Melbourne in November, but I don’t think we have any wineries pencilled. But, we’re going to Adelaide after that, and the Barossa Valley is a must! (also Clare Valley, where we have friends!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

