Sikkim in pictures

While I get back into the swing of things (namely: having to set a morning alarm, NOT eating the entire left side of the menu, and getting over the four-and-a-half hour jet lag), I’ll have to put blogging about my amazing trip to Sikkim on the back burner. So, until I get time to transcribe voice notes, edit photos, and pull excerpts from my journal, here’s a little snippet of my trip, in pictures. And words (because, quite frankly, no one has ever called me a ‘woman of few words’):

We started our trip in Gangtok. The weather was a little, um, how do I put this mildly– DISMAL (?!) on our first day:

All was not lost, however, because we learnt to play Mah-jong (well, The Sister did, anyway. But I won, so, whatever), and drank lots and lots and lots of tea.

The following few days, however, were outstanding, weather-wise, and we* I woke to this stunning view of Kanchenjunga:

Mangan, further north than Gangtok, but at a lower elevation, was boiling. Ok, so perhaps I’m exaggerating a tad, but it was a good 28 deg. to Gangtok’s 20, anyhow.

At Mangan we visited the Ringhim Monastery:

Before heading back to Gangtok, and petering onward to Martam (pictured) and the Rumtek Monastery (pictures to follow in next post):

We wound down our trip in Siliguri, and somewhere in-between we enjoyed Gangtok’s night life… but I’ll get to that in the ‘proper’ blog post, complete with an itinerary, where to stay, and what NOT to do.

* The Sister isn’t too much of a morning person, to be honest.

Author: Akanksha Singh

Twenty-something travel addict || Likes: coffee, sarcasm, the Oxford comma, blue skies, and cobblestone roads. || Dislikes: rudeness, carrots, and pigeons (read: winged-rats with satanic eyes).

1 thought on “Sikkim in pictures”

  1. Dear Sir / mam,
    I have read your blog and was really amused by your unique experience in Sikkim. I am a Doctoral Research Scholar and I am working on Sikkim Tourism. It would be an honor to get your experience for research. Please contact me at mrdjgurung@gmail.com. I will be eagerly waiting for your response.Or you can directly submit your feedback by clicking

    http://goo.gl/forms/U40WdAaQMa

    Like

Leave a Reply

