Bucket List #8: 10 must-visit beach destinations

So, I feel like I should preface this post with an apology, since I’ve been MIA for the last few weeks (on account of uni., work, a nasty ear and tonsil infection, and holidays). SORRY. I’m usually not one to slack, and I hate not doing something wholeheartedly, so I decided it was better to not put out (sub-par) posts, and wait until I’d gotten my ducks in a row.

Needless to say, I’m back and well, and I cannot believe I actually got emails from concerned blog-friends! I was convinced that at this point, my mother would be the only person reading this; so, thank you!

Okay, back to business now: let’s talk about beaches.

Nice word, that, “beach”. Sort of like “leach”, but with a “b”. (Really, I have no idea what’s wrong with me. And quite frankly we don’t have time to go through my childhood traumas; including the time I lost the middle school debating finals to my then, arch-nemesis Oake– yes, the girl’s name was actually Oak-with-an-E!)

Anyhow, before I lose my marbles entirely (read: just kidding, they’re long gone — the marbles, I mean), I give you:

10 must-visit beach destinations

10) Green Sand (Papakōlea) Beach – Big Island, Hawaii, USA

Why: 1) Green sand (I’m a geologist- olivine excites me, okay?) and 2) GREEN SAND!

Olivine-basalt sand (marine beach sand, modern; Green Sand Beach, Puu Mahana Volcanic Cone, southern tip of Hawaii, central Pacific Ocean) 1

Image via Flickr: Olivine-basalt sand (marine beach sand, modern; Green Sand Beach, Puu Mahana Volcanic Cone, southern tip of Hawaii, central Pacific Ocean) 1. Photographer: James St. John.

Mahana Bay

Image via Flickr: Mahana Bay | Overlooking Green Sand Beach. Photographer: Thomas.

9) Pink Sand Beach – Balos, Greece

Why: Pink sand. I mean, even Barbie would approve.

Pink sand in Balos

Image via Flickr: Pink sand in Balos. Photographer: Alberto Perdomo.

8) Maho Beach – Saint Maarten

Why: Because who doesn’t like laying on the beach, whilst planes whoosh by!?

Airport Danger Jet Blast Sign

Image via Flickr: Airport Danger Jet Blast Sign. Photographer: Richie Diesterheft.

Insel Air's MD-82 approaching over Maho Beach, St. Maarten

Image via Flickr:Insel Air’s MD-82 approaching over Maho Beach, St. Maarten. Photographer: Takashi Ota.

7) Wells Beach – Norfolk, UK

Why: This one’s sort of a long story. But since I have to give you some sort of valid reason (as I have thus far), let’s just stay with ‘chip shop, ice cream, and (sand)wiches’. See what I did there with the last one? Because when you have a sandwich on the beach, it gets sandy?

Yes, I find myself hilarious, thank you very much.

What does it matter if I’ve had a beer or two five?

Beach huts, Wells beach, Norfolk

Image via Flickr: Beach huts, Wells beach, Norfolk. Photographer: Ned Trifle.

6) Bondi – Sydney, Australia

Why: 1) Because, duh, Bondi. And 2) The Bondi Baths. And 3) Have you SEEN some of those lifeguards on ‘Bondi Rescue’?! They were practically the reason I moved Down Under.

Pft, no… I wouldn’t pretend-drown just to get rescued. How bad do you think I am?! (Read: awful. Said scenario is highly probable).

Bondi Baths

Image via Flickr: Bondi Baths. Photographer: Waikiki Natatorium.

Bondi Beach, Oct. 2011

Image via Flickr: Bondi Beach, Oct. 2011. Photographer: University of Denver.

5) Whitehaven – Whitsunday NP, Australia

Why:

Aerial shot of Whitehaven Beach, Whitsunday Island off Queensland, Australia

Image via Flickr: Aerial shot of Whitehaven Beach, Whitsunday Island off Queensland, Australia. Photographer: Szecska.

4) Ko Phi Phi Ley – Thailand

Why:

Thaïlande - Ko Phi Phi - Maya Bay

Image via Flickr: Thaïlande – Ko Phi Phi – Maya Bay Photographer: Nicolas Vollmer.

But also because Leo was here. DiCaprio, I mean — how many Leos do you know?!

Image via Flickr: Untitled Photographer: Ted Murphy.

3) Boulders Beach – Cape Town, South Africa

Why: 1) ‘Boulders’ beach (revisit point 1, #10 re: me being a geologist), and 2) penguins.

Boulders Beach Villa - HDR

Image via Flickr: Boulders Beach Villa.  Photographer: Nicolas Raymond.

Seriously: PENGUINS. On a beach.

高清风景壁纸汇总[第1期]

Image via Flickr: The Penguins of South Africa. Photographer: 一元 马.

2) South Beach – Miami, USA

Why: Is ‘because it’s Miami’ a good reason?

Lifeguard on Duty in South Beach Miami

Image via Flickr: Lifeguard on Duty in South Beach Miami. Photographer: Kim Seng.

1) Any and every beach in Maldives 

Why: I’m really not sure if this actually needs too much justification. I mean hello:

Maldives

Image via Flickr: Maldives. Photographer: Sarah Ackerman.

Not to mention: bioluminescent phytoplankton (or, ‘glow-in-the-dark shrimpy things’ if you’re so inclined)

https://www.flickr.com/photos/ifindkarma/12099851886

Image via Flickr: Maldives Beach Looks Like Starry Night Sky. Photographer: Adam Rifkin.

Author: Akanksha Singh

Twenty-something travel addict || Likes: coffee, sarcasm, the Oxford comma, blue skies, and cobblestone roads. || Dislikes: rudeness, carrots, and pigeons (read: winged-rats with satanic eyes).

3 thoughts on “Bucket List #8: 10 must-visit beach destinations”

Leave a Reply

