The Wayfarer’s Watch-list #4: 5 more movies for the itchy-footed (what to watch when you want to, but can’t travel*)

* Or if you’re looking for travel inspiration For Part I of this post, click here.

5) The Princess Bride

OK, so I might have put this one on the list plainly because 1) it’s currently playing in the background as I write this post, and 2) because it stars a young Cary Elwes answering Buttercup with ‘as you wish’. That said, it’s a great movie, with stunning scenery – shot in Ireland and the UK. I mean, if ‘P.S. I Love You’ didn’t make you want to skip on over to the emerald isle, this one has to!

4) The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

It’s not much of a secret that I love the cast of this movie – Judi Dench, Maggie Smith and Penelope Wilton, (that’s Isobel Crawley and Violet Crawley, to you Downton fans), Bill Nighy, and Tom Wilkinson. But the main reason I like this movie is because it’s a fairly reasonable portrayal of India (and I can say that without bias, since I’m Indian). The colours, the smells, the tastes, and the cultures – all well-portrayed, and did I mention Maggie Smith?

3) The Motorcycle Diaries

Fine, so the book was better. But the movie was stellar. I mean, it’s not just that the biopic travels through Peru and a host over other South American countries still on my bucket list, but also that it’s the sort of movie that stays with you for a long time after watching.

2) Midnight in Paris

I’m going to preface this one with something controversial – I don’t typically like Woody Allen movies (although the more recent ones seem just like my cup… so maybe it’s more fitting to say ‘I don’t like Woody Allen movies starring Woody Allen’). Anyhow, this one was… good! Owen Wilson didn’t get on my last nerve, and the combination of the jazz, and the poetic streets of Paris just works.

1) The Before Sunrise, Sunset, Midnight trilogy

Set in: Vienna; Paris; Kalamata, Greece. These movies were something else, each one was more captivating than the last. And for any of you skeptics out there – I met and made a really close (guy) friend on a day long journey from Montréal to Singapore (a day because we spent ages on the flights from Montréal to Frankfurt, and Frankfurt to Singapore, with a delayed transit in Frankfurt).

Leave a Reply

