Bucket List #1: The Whisky Trail, Scotland

When I was last in Scotland, I was still under 18, detested whisky, and a pescetarian (a ‘phase’ which lasted a whole two years, thank you very much!) Now, at 24, I appreciate a good single malt (I blame my father — he collects them), willing to eat everything under the sun (really, I’ve tried roaches and chicken feet, so I think haggis is doable), and item #2 on my bucket list is Gerard Butler – just kidding! (Read: so not kidding, but he’s getting to his mid-forties now, so maybe we should just stay with ‘I’m kidding’…)

Jokes aside though, (not to say I joke about attractive men in kilts- has everyone seen ‘Outlander’?!) I think I’m of the age where I can take to some good scotch, hold my liquor like a barrel (OK, so that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but I can hold a good few drinks… OK, if you’re family reading this – THAT WAS ONE TIME!)

Anyway, the whisky trail: a 3 day excursion,making your way through distilleries, and ‘tasting’ some well-aged liquid gold. Ummm, yes? Or should I say ‘aye’?

cardhu-distillery-exterior, IMAGE FROM VISIT SCOTLAND WEBSITE
The Cardhu Distillery, Knockando. Image via Visit Scotland website.

For similar-minded scotch lovers:

Visit Scotland, includes itinerary http://www.visitscotland.com/see-do/itineraries/malt-whisky-trail

Malt Whisky Trail website http://www.maltwhiskytrail.com

For the true Scotch student (pronunciations are everything): http://www.pastemagazine.com/blogs/awesome_of_the_day/2014/01/how-to-pronounce-scotch-labels-with-brian-cox.html

And for all you lovely Scotch drinkin’ lassies, something we can all related to: http://thoughtcatalog.com/chloe-angyal/2014/04/for-girls-who-drink-whisky/

If you liked this post, drop me a comment, if you didn’t like it definitely drop me a comment, and if you really loved it, like it, share it, or tell your grandmother about it. 

Leave a Reply

